29 September 2017, Written by David Simmons


TONIGHT, 300 of Brisbane's most talented young business people will descend on Moda Events Portside for the 2017 Brisbane Young Entrepreneur Awards.

The event, hosted by Business News Australia and emceed by Queensland's Chief Entrepreneur Mark Sowerby and Carla Tooma, is the night of nights for Brisbane's young entrepreneurs.

The Young Entrepreneur Awards showcases Australia's top business leaders aged under 40, who have built a thriving business, delivered innovation, led social change or forged a path to turn their dream into reality.

There were over 130 entrepreneurs nominating, demonstrating the strength of Brisbane's healthy scene of innovators and game changers.

These entrepreneurs are making a significant contribution to Brisbane's economy, collectively turning over $200 million and employing more than 1000 staff.

Tonight's event marks the 10th anniversary of the Young Entrepreneur Awards. Ten years ago, Kenton Campbell, founder of Zarraffa's Coffee, took the stage to receive the very first Young Entrepreneur of the Year award.

The Awards have unearthed and recognised some of today's leading entrepreneurs such as Bevan Slattery, who has since established four powerhouse listed companies including Pipe Networks, NEXTDC, Superloop, and Megaport, Anthony Yap and Hahn Lu of Good Price Pharmacy, Phillip Di Bella of Di Bella Coffee, last year's winner Jordan Grives of Fonebox, and so many more incredibly successful entrepreneurs that have made their mark.

As part of the 10th anniversary celebrations Business News Australia are proud to announce the launch of the Young Entrepreneur Academy. Each and every finalist will have the opportunity to attend a series of masterclasses designed to further foster their incredible entrepreneurial talent.

The esteemed panel of judges for the 2017 Awards includes Greencross Founder and Shark Tank entrepreneur Dr Glen Richards, Bond Business School Professor of Entrepreneurship Dr Baden U'Ren, and River City Labs CEO Peta Ellis.  

Supporting this initiative are the corporate sponsors of the awards HLB Mann Judd, Bond Business School, Telstra Business Centre Milton, Advance Queensland, Cullen's Patent and Trademark Attorneys, Alex Correa Executive, and Screen Offset Printing.

Tonight will feature 14 award categories including:

  • Digital Disruptor
  • Technology
  • Marketing, PR & Events
  • Health & Fitness
  • Retail & Services
  • Professional Services
  • Legal
  • Hospitality & Tourism
  • Arts & Culture
  • Influencer
  • Manufacturing, Wholesale & Distribution
  • Property & Construction
  • Startup
  • and Social Entrepreneur

Finalists from each category will also be up for the highly-anticipated Trailblazer of the Year award and 2017 Young Entrepreneur of the Year award.

Never miss a news update, subscribe here. Follow us on Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Twitter.

Business News Australia

Author: David Simmons





Contact us

Email News Update Sign Up Contact Details

PO Box 1487
Mudgeeraba QLD 4213

LoginTell a FriendSign Up to Newsletter