SA will not relax Victorian border on 20 July

30 June 2020, Written by David Simmons

SA will not relax Victorian border on 20 July

South Australia's border with Victoria will not be reopened on 20 July as planned due to the worsening situation with COVID-19 in Melbourne. 

The state will also reassess the date on which it will open its border to the Australian Capital Territory and New South Wales, indicating today that it may actually be sooner than 20 July.

"At this point we cannot relax [the border with Victoria] on the 20th of July," says SA Premier Steven Marshall (pictured).

"We're gathering information on a daily basis, we're very hopeful that Victoria will be able to bring their outbreak under control, but at this stage we cannot possibly lift that border on the 20th July as we were hoping to do.

"It could be that we bring the ACT and New South Wales before the 20th, or it could be on the 20th, or it could also be delayed. It's unlikely to be delayed, they have done extraordinarily well."

South Australia will provide a firmer update with regard to NSW and the ACT later this week.

Borders to travellers from Western Australia, the Northern Territory, Tasmania and Queensland into South Australia are already open, meaning visitors from those jurisdictions do not have to complete a two week period of self-isolation.

Travellers from NSW, ACT and VIC are currently required to self-isolate for 14 days on entrance into South Australia.

South Australia reported just three new cases of COVID-19 yesterday. All three were travellers from overseas that are currently in hotel quarantine.

Updated at 10:54am AEST on 30 June 2020.

Author: David Simmons





Contact us

Email News Update Sign Up Contact Details

PO Box 1487
Mudgeeraba QLD 4213

LoginTell a FriendSign Up to Newsletter