Premier bans lobbyists

Written on the 11 August 2009

LOBBYISTS will now be banned from government-appointed boards as Premier Anna Bligh drives reforms towards more open relationships between politics and business.

The ban will apply to all individuals listed on the Queensland Lobbyist Register and will also prevent lobbyists from any other appointments paid by the Queensland government.

Bligh says she is determined that Queensland will lead the nation in its push for accountability, to deliver changes that Queenslanders are demanding from all sides of politics. She has also announced a ban on success fees.

“I’ve announced a ban on members of my caucus attending political fundraising events where businesses pay on the basis they will have access to members of parliament,” says Bligh.

“And in the interest of ultimate accountability, I have referred all additions to the urban footprint to the CMC for investigation.”

“In addition, I have released names of businesses who attended fundraising events I have attended - still unmatched by the LNP.”

Bligh says the strong moves send a clear message that she hears the concerns of Queenslanders and is committed to addressing them.

“The community demands absolute transparency and this announcement will remove any suggestion of conflict of interest that may arise out of an overlap between lobbying firms and government-appointed boards,”

“I have asked my Director-General to conduct an exhaustive search of the membership of all government boards and associated bodies, to identify any individuals who are also registered as lobbyists in this state.”

“Anyone who receives a tick in both boxes will receive a letter from my Director-General, advising them that they have one month to choose between the two roles.”

She says some of the individuals who will receive letters include Steve Bredhauer, Darryl Briskey, Terry Mackenroth, Anthony Mooney, Wayne Myers, Bob Quinn, Molly Robson, Con Sciacca and Jim Soorley.

“This is yet another significant reform that will take our state forward – and all while the Leader of the Opposition continues to stand still.”






Contact us

Email News Update Sign Up Contact Details

PO Box 2087
Brisbane QLD 4001

LoginTell a FriendSign Up to Newsletter