Written on the 21 November 2012


A MURRARIE switchgear company has won twice at the Premier of Queensland’s Export Awards 2012.

At a dinner ceremony in the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, NOJA Power not only claimed victory in the Large Advanced Manufacturer Award category but also the overall Exporter of the Year Award.

Queensland Premier Campbell Newman (pictured left with the NOJA team) praises the winners as local success stories.

“NOJA Power Switchgear is a Queensland company at the top of its game, providing electrical infrastructure to countries with swelling populations and industries,” he says.

“[The company] epitomises the success story of a Queensland company, which has started out small, and gone on to bigger things.”

The company previously won Exporter of the Year in 2007 and 2009, while finance director Quynh Anh Le also took home last year’s Brisbane Young Entrepreneur Award.

“NOJA Power’s very first sale was to an overseas firm and the company has grown up with an export focus ever since,” says managing director Neil O’Sullivan.

“To win it [the Exporter of the Year Award] three times in six years is exceptional and a testament to the hard work and commitment of all NOJA Power’s staff.”

NOJA was established in 2002 and now employs 150 people, who help export electrical infrastructure products to 80 countries. The company turned over in excess of $40 million in the 2011 financial year.

O’Sullivan credits the company’s quality service and tailored approach to growing regions for achieving international success.

“Our continued investment in research and development to create quality products recognised as leading-edge technology in the world today underpins our business success,” he says.

NOJA is also in the running for the Australian Export Awards. The Prime Minister’s Australian Exporter of the Year will be announced on November 27 at New Parliament House in Canberra.

Other winners included Australian Agricultural Company (agribusiness), CIRCA Contemporary Circus (arts and entertainment), Xstrata Technology (ICT), Ausenco (minerals and energy), Cardno (large services), Oniqua MRO Analytics (small to medium services), PWR Performance Products (small to medium manufacturer) and CJ Nutracon (regional exporter).

The Dermot McManus Award went to Ferra Engineering, Richard Joel Award was presented to Benjamin Carter of VAE Group and Tom Burns Award went to PLACE Design Group.






Contact us

Email News Update Sign Up Contact Details

PO Box 1487
Mudgeeraba QLD 4213

LoginTell a FriendSign Up to Newsletter